Community Based Research in Sport, Exercise and Health Science by
Community-based research has recently gained attention within the sport and exercise sciences. When seeking to understand community based research methodologies, one finds a diversity of approaches spanning a breadth of ontological views and equally diverse methodological approaches. Though little is known about community-based sport, exercise and physical activity research, these focinbsp;are beginning to gain scholarly attention, in part through the emerging sport for development and peace literature. This book features a conceptual introduction and eight pioneering examples of community-based research from North American, European, and Oceanic scholars. The topic matter reveals scholarship undertaken in relation to health, physical activity, youth sport, and elite sport, exemplifying work with mainstream and marginalized populations. This book, perhaps the first compilation of community-based research relating to sport, exercise and health, will be of interest to sociologists of sport, sport and exercise psychology scholars, sport management scholars, qualitative researchers, health scholars and practitioners, sport for development organizations, and research ready communities seeking to engage in localized research projects. This book was published as a special issue of Qualitative Research in Sport, Exercise and Health.
Mixed Methods Research in the Movement Sciences by
Mixed methods research techniques, combining both quantitative and qualitative elements, have become well established throughout the social, behavioural and natural sciences. This is the first book to focus on the application of mixed methods research in the movement sciences, specifically in sport, physical education and dance. Researchers and practitioners in each of these fields are concerned with the study of habitual behaviour in naturalistic contexts, and of the concurrent and sequential nature of events and states, precisely the kind of work that multi-method research design can help illuminate. The book is arranged into four sections. The first provides a thorough overview of mixed methods procedures and research design, and summarizes their applicability to the movement sciences. The remaining sections then offer detailed case studies of mixed methods research in team and individual sports (analyzing hidden patterns of play and optimising technique); kinesics and dance (analyzing motor skills behaviour in childhood, and the complexity of motor responses in dance); and physical education (detecting interaction patterns in group situations, and optimizing non-verbal communication by teachers and sports coaches). Mixed Methods Research in the Movement Sciences offers an important new tool for researchers and helps to close the gap between the analysis of expert performance and our understanding of the general principles of movement science. It is important reading for any student, researcher or professional with an interest in motor control, sport and dance pedagogy, coaching, performance analysis or decision-making in sport.
The Psychology of Sports Coaching by
This is the first book to offer a comprehensive review of current research in the psychology of sports coaching. It provides detailed, critical appraisals of the key psychological concepts behind the practice of sports coaching and engages with contemporary debates in this field. Organised around three main themes, it discusses factors affecting the coaching environment; methods for enhancing coach performance; and how to put theory into practice through coaching work. Written by an international team of researchers and practitioners at the cutting edge of psychology and coaching, each chapter introduces a key concept, defines key terms, provides a comprehensive literature review, and considers implications for future research and applied practice. Encompassing the latest developments in the field, it addresses topics such as: the theory behind effective coaching creating performance environments promoting psychological well-being developing resilience through coaching transformational leadership and the role of the coach. The Psychology of Sports Coaching: Research and Practice is an indispensable resource for sport psychologists and sports coaches, and is essential reading for all students and academics researching sport psychology.
Research Methods for Sports Studies by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analyzing data to writing the research report, it is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case-studies and examples from around the world. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, the book includes completely new chapters on using social media and conducting on-line research, as well as expanded coverage of key topics such as conducting a literature review, making the most of statistics, research ethics and presenting research. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, revision questions and practical research exercises. An expanded companion website offers additional material for students and instructors, including web links, multiple choice revision questions, an interactive glossary, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields.
Research Methods in Physical Education and Youth Sport by
This is the first research methods book to focus entirely on physical education and youth sport.nbsp;It guides the reader through the wholenbsp;research process; from the first steps to completion of a dissertation or practice-based project, and introduces key topics such as: formulating a research question qualitative approaches quantitative approaches mixed method research literature review case studies survey, interviews and focus groups data analysis writing the dissertation. Each chapter includes a full range of useful pedagogical features, including chapter summaries, practical activities, case studies, dialogues with active researchers and guidance on further reading and resources. With contributions from some of the world's best-known researchers in the field, this book is indispensible reading for all students and professionals working in physical education, youth sport, sports coaching and related subjects.
Research Methods in Sport by
Packed full of essential tools and tips, this second edition is your quick-start guide to undertaking research within real world of sport. Using clear, accessible language, Smith maps an easy-to-follow journey through the research process, drawing upon the most up-to-date evidence and resources to help you select the most appropriate research approach for your project. Throughout the book you will discover: Key points that highlight important definitions and theories; Reflection points to help you make connections between key concepts and your research; Learning activities to put your newfound knowledge into practice; Further reading to explore the wider context of sport research in the real world. Featuring over thirty-five case studies of students' and academics' research in practice, this book is the perfect guide-by-your-side to have during your own sport research.
Research Methods in Sports Coaching by
Research Methods in Sports Coaching is a key resource for any student, researcher or practitioner wishing to undertake research into sports coaching. It takes the reader through each phase of the research process, from identifying valuable research questions, to data collection and analyses, to the presentation and dissemination of research findings. It is the only book to focus on the particular challenges and techniques of sports coaching research, with each chapter including examples, cases and scenarios from the real world of sports coaching. The book introduces and explores important philosophical, theoretical and practical considerations in conducting coaching research, including contextual discussions about why it's important to do sports coaching research, how to judge the quality of coaching research, and how sports coaching research might meet the needs of coaching practitioners. Written by a team of leading international scholars and researchers from the UK, US, Canada and Australia, and bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book is an essential course text for any research methods course taken as part of a degree programme in sports coaching or coach education.
Rethinking Sport and Exercise Psychology Research by
This book provides a comprehensive historical account of the evolution of Sport and Exercise Psychology research, charting the progression of the field from the early days when well-controlled experimental research was the standard, to the subsequent paradigm war between positivism, post-positivism and constructivism. The book challenges current thinking and makes a plea for a move towards a future in which the accumulation of knowledge is at the core of Sport and Exercise research, rather than simply methods and measurements. The result is a critique not only of exercise and sport psychology, but of psychological research methods more broadly. It will be of great interest to researchers and students working in Sport Science, Research Methods, and Psychology.
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by
Regular physical activity and proper nutrition remain the most highly recommended avenues to maintaining long-term health. Physical fitness has proven to help prevent, delay, or relieve certain diseases, both physical and mental, and provides benefits to people of all ages.
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods by
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods This user-friendly textbook teaches students to understand and apply procedural steps in completing quantitative studies. It explains statistics while progressing through the steps of the hypothesis-testing process from hypothesis to results. The research problems used in the book reflect statistical applications related to interesting and important topics. In addition, the book provides a Research Analysis and Interpretation Guide to help students analyze research articles. Designed as a hands-on resource, each chapter covers a single research problem and offers directions for implementing the research method from start to finish. Readers will learn how to: Pinpoint research questions and hypotheses Identify, classify, and operationally define the study variables Choose appropriate research designs Conduct power analysis Select an appropriate statistic for the problem Use a data set Conduct data screening and analyses using SPSS Interpret the statistics Write the results related to the problem Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods allows students to immediately, independently, and successfully apply quantitative methods to their own research projects.