LibGuides: Researching a Country: Getting Started

WorldMark Encyclopedia of the Nations

WorldMark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Gale
ISBN: 9781414433905
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
This is a Library ebook with detailed information on countries. It has many different sections for each country, such as ethnic groups, science and technology, natural resources, etc. History is the largest section. To find a country, use the Table of Contents on the left side of the screen. Click on the + next to the continent and get an itemized list of countries that you can click on.

Across the top of the page are links for printing, saving and emailing, as well as a Cite link that gives sample citations in various styles.

Statistical Abstracts of the World

ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World aggregates the statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.

Be aware that since this data comes from the governments of the countries that participate, the tables are very often in languages other than English. You may need to use Google or a language dictionary to translate the table information.

You can usually find suggested APA and MLA citations at the bottom of the page for each table.

Helpful Links

Library Home Page
Get Help from a Librarian
Need help? Ask a librarian.
Schedule a Research Appointment
Meet one-on-one with a librarian for 25 minutes to discuss your research.
Get an Article from Another Library
Request an article from another library.
Get Books, Media, etc. from Another Library
Request materials from beyond LCSC.

Women's Lives Around the World

Women's Lives Around the World by Susan M. Shaw (Editor); Nancy Staton Barbour (Editor); Patti Duncan (Editor); Kryn Freehling-Burton (Editor); Jane Nichols (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610697118
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Providing an in-depth look at the lives of women and girls in approximately 150 countries, this multivolume reference set offers readers transnational and postcolonial analysis of the many issues that are critical to the survival and success of women and girls. * Includes primary source documents that offer readers a direct look at important statements, laws, and policies about women and girls

The set is arranged geographically:

Volume 1 : Middle East and Africa

Volume 2 : North America, Central America, and South America

Volume 3 : Asia (including Central and South Asia) and Pacific (including Australia and New Zealand)

Volume 4 : Europe (including Russia)

The publisher provides suggested citations in various styles for the book. Look for the "Cite" link once you've clicked on the title above.

A to Z World Business

AtoZ World Business This link opens in a new window

Although this database has the word "Business" in the title, it provides general country information that could be helpful for any researcher. Once you're in the database, select a country from the list on the left.

Each country report has many sections, which are listed along the left side of the page. To get started, pay attention to the following sections:

Overviews : Country Snapshot
Overviews : Country Facts
History
Maps

Here are sample citations for this resource:

APA:

Colgan, A (2017). Country snapshot. In Belgium. Retrieved from A to Z World Business database

http://www.atozworldbusiness.com/#mode=country&regionId=14&uri=country-

content&nid=65&key=snapshot-overview.

MLA:

Colgan, Alex. “Country Snapshot.” Belgium, 2017. A to Z World Business database. Accessed

30 May 2017.