Book and Print History Teaching Collection: Home

"The Lewis-Clark State College Book and Print History Teaching Collection was created in 2022 through support from the Rare Book School’s M.C. Lang Fellowship and the LCSC Division of Humanities. This collection includes materials that can be used by faculty and teaching staff in their classes. The materials illuminate the history of printing and allow students opportunities to handle artifacts and learn about working with rare materials, archives, and the material elements of print history. The collection includes facsimile editions of important works ranging from Chaucer to the Harlem Renaissance magazine FIRE! There are also original copies of historically important books and periodicals, nontraditionally formatted books, zines, letter type, broadsides, and trade paperbacks." 

 - Dr. Marlowe Daly-Galeano, Ph.D

Book and Print History Teaching Committee: 

• Dr. Marlowe Daly-Galeano, Ph.D
  • Director, Center for Teaching and Learning Associate Professor of English
• Dr. Peter C. Remien, Ph.D.
  • Associate Professor of English
• Johanna Bjork, MLS
  • Director of Library Services
• Sam Coulter
  • Assistant Professor Graphic Communications
• Jennifer S. Anderson
  • Associate Professor, Publishing Arts & Creative Writing

• Collection checks out to current Lewis-Clark State College Faculty. 
• One week checkout/ two automatic renewals.

Handling Rare Books/Documents - Guidelines

• Wash your hands
• Handle the book gently
• Open the book slowly to protect bindings Never bend back the covers or pages
• Turn one page at a time, slowly
• Do not flip through the pages
• Do not touch ink on pages, including marginalia
• Do not touch illustrations Do not write on top of the books or use sticky (Post-It) notes
• Keep the book's spine supported
• Keep food and drink away