American History Research Starter: Books

Provides a short, accessible overview of this important social and political movement, highlighting key events and figures, the strengths and weaknesses of the activists, and its lasting effects on the country.

The first reference work on this key subject in early American history. With over 500 original essays on key American Enlightenment figures, it provides a comprehensive account to complement the intense scholarly activity that has recently centered on the European Enlightenment.

Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.

The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader.

In hundreds of thoughtful, informative entries, this 4th Edition outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history.

Comprehensive source that brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Extensive A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, religious groups, organizations, and agencies shaping religion and law in today's society.

In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.

Taking up a vast array of issues such as slavery, colonialism, prison expansion, sexuality, gender, feminism, war, and popular culture, this text showcases the startling breadth that characterizes the field.

Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.

Spanning multiple histories, numerous migrations, and diverse populations, this text reconsiders and recalibrates the ever-shifting borders of Asian American studies as a distinctly interdisciplinary field.

Contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoric--cultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape.

As a resource for exploring the influences on American values, this text provides an essential and an accessible commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.

Covers the topics of science, medicine, and technology from the early colonial era to present-day.

This volume engages contemporary research, which draws on new archives, art, literature, film, and music, to examine how Asian Americans are redefining their national identities, and to show how race interacts with gender, sexuality, class, and the built environment to reveal the diversity of the United States.

Provides the reader with a deeper understanding of day-to-day life in America from 2010 to 2019. This volume is sure to be of value as both a serious research tool for students of American history as well as an intriguing climb up America's family tree.

Provides a comprehensive study of the literature on the causes, course, and consequences of the Korean War, 1950-1953. Aimed primarily at readers with a special interest in military history and contemporary conflict studies, the authors summarize and analyze the key research issues in what for years was known as the 'Forgotten War.'

From the cunning, calculating, government-trained warriors to the psychopathic, homegrown freelancers, you can find them all in this text.

Included in this biographical encyclopedia are Union and Confederate naval officers down to the rank of mate; enlisted sailors who won the Medal of Honor, or otherwise distinguished themselves or who wrote accounts of life on the gunboats; army officers and leaders who played a direct role in combat along Western waters; political officials who influenced river operations; civilian steamboat captains and pilots who participated in wartime logistics; and civilian contractors directly involved, including shipbuilders, dam builders, naval constructors and munitions experts.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

"Remember the Alamo!” is a phrase that is woven into the American consciousness, but what do most people really remember about the Alamo? Much of the true story has been shrouded in myth for over 150 years. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides thorough coverage for people, places, events and issues spanning the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas by Americans to the forming of the Republic in 1836.

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.

From the Revolutionary War to the current US withdrawal from Afghanistan, changes in technology are discussed, as is the nature of war itself, along with public opinion on individual conflicts and its effect on how the government presents military action.

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' military and diplomatic legacies.

Provides biographical summaries of more than 100 assassins and terrorists, and aims for a more complete understanding of the motivations behind violent extremism.

Covers wars from the Korean War (1950-1953) to ongoing wars in Syria, the Ukraine, and Libya, among others.

Covers a period dominated by two wars that for the first time in history encompassed nearly every nation in the world, as well as numerous regional and local conflicts that nevertheless caused the death of millions of people.

Examination of the interdisciplinary, intersecting fields of gender studies and the history of the United States military.

Covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing.

In the most comprehensive atlas of Native American history and culture available, the story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes in these areas: beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more.

Contains case studies, by leading experts, of hunting and gathering peoples, in major world regions, plus thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. Surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers’ encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.

The story of American Indians in the 20th century is an inspiring tale of survival and rebirth from the depths of defeat. At the dawn of the 20th century, the Indian was seen by non-Indians as the "Vanishing Red Man," a symbol of nostalgia, a figure of the past with no future. Yet not only have American Indians adapted and survived, but they have brought their talents and unique cultural perspectives to many fields.

From ancient rock drawings to today's urban living, this text traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. A fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more.

This essential book illustrates the important events and figures surrounding the suffrage movement; literature, art, and music; business leaders and breakthroughs; political history and office holders; advances in science and medicine; and other vital topics.

Resource guide to help people identify and understand challenging conversations about race and discrimination.

Details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the modern day. This comprehensive A-to-Z reference guide covers important people, groups and organizations, events, and legislation.

Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.

This intriguing reference provides detailed entries that define the major conspiracies, both proven and unproven, throughout history. From the "inheritance powder" of the Medicis to the U.N. oil-for-food scandal, this encyclopedia investigates the broad history of conspiracies and their impact on global affairs and everyday life.

Offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.

A comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.

The most up-to-date reference of its kind, the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day.

Covers a wide spectrum of American history and culture, including political events, military history, sports, arts, entertainment, landmark legislation, and business. The book's concise entries, arranged from A to Z, bring the United States' past into sharp focus while also offering just plain useful facts about the well known and not so well known.

Landmark reference source covering major themes in American history, with emphasis on African American history, women's history, immigration history, as well as 21st-century issues ranging from terrorism to campaign finance to LGBTQ rights.

Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.

Looks at the major themes that have developed in the interdisciplinary field of Southern Studies. The chapters present focused historiographical analyses that, taken together, offer a clear sense of the evolution and contours of Southern Studies.

Provides the first comprehensive overview of historical research in American sport from the early Colonial period to the present day.

Offers a modern, original sourcebook covering a pivotal era in U.S. history.

Offers a modern, original sourcebook covering the movement for American independence.

Offers a modern, original sourcebook covering a pivotal era in U.S. history.

Offers an accessible, inclusive sourcebook covering a pivotal era in U.S. history.

Draws on contributions from an international panel of experts. Their writings explore the growth the field has experienced in the past three decades and offer observations on challenges and opportunities for the future.

As Africa and its diaspora commemorate fifty years of post-independence Pan-Africanism, this unique volume provides profound insight into the thirteen prominent individuals of African descent who have won the Nobel Peace Prize since 1950.

The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America.

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.

3rd Edition: this A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.

A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person --a sailor -set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country. From Canada to the Caribbean to Chile, they established vital economic and social institutions, championed the cause of abolition, and formed a bridge between the worlds of free whites and enslaved blacks.

Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance. Primary sources in this title

Recognizing that ethnic differences are transforming American education expectations, political ideals and popular culture, Gale presents a vital, new multicultural reference. Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.

Walking you through a rich but often overlooked part of American history, this compendium addresses the people, times, and events that influenced and changed African American history.

Offers a modern, original sourcebook covering Black history from the 1500s to the present.

The African-American struggle and triumph comes to life in these pages, from the Emancipation Proclamation and racial segregation, to the Harlem Renaissance and the Civil Rights Movement, to the first African-American president. This volume provides information on what it meant and means to be an African American - from the 1800s to the present day.

Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.

Spanning nearly 400 years from the early abolitionists to the present, this guide book profiles people, places, and events that have shaped the history of the black struggle for freedom.

Covers iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Among the sources included are important legislative documents such as the Reconstruction era amendments; critical Supreme Court decisions; and iconic speeches and writings by leaders such as Sojourner Truth, Booker T. Washington, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

3rd Edition, profiles American Indian women who have had an impact on American Indian society and the world at large. Dispels popular myths and introduces the reader to numerous women whose stories have often remained untold until now.

This A-to-Z format biographical dictionary covers notable American women in sports - both athletes and coaches - and is inclusive regionally, chronologically, and multiculturally.

This 2nd Edition offers fascinating coverage of notable American women who have been proven leaders and activists in both the political and social realms.

Contains biographical profiles of men and women in the United States who have demonstrated their political leadership primarily by being elected, nominated, or appointed to significant political offices in the United States.

Features more than 250 A-to-Z entries on important American activists and social leaders from colonial times to the present.

A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.

Since the U.S. Constitution became the law of the land on March 4, 1789, 108 men and four women have served on the United States Supreme Court. Among the most powerful individuals of their time, some justices have wielded more influence than the presidents who appointed them. In their position as interpreters of the Constitution, they have exercised great influence on the political opinions of legislators and citizens alike.

The majority of our vice presidents have been men of extraordinary high aspiration, ability, and achievement. For some, the vice presidency was the deflating end of a political career; for others, the office was a stepping-stone to the presidency.

4th edition; comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Supplies a rich record of progress in America from the humble accomplishment in a workplace or the incremental change in small town government to the historic civil rights movers and a renowned elected politician.

Shines a welcome light on some of America's most remarkable women and their enduring stories and amazing accomplishments.

Provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

Provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

Offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties.

Examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.

This authoritative work showcases the cabinets of all 45 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Donald J. Trump.

Contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of abortion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of due process.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of religion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issues of freedom of speech, assembly, and expression.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of the press.

Looks at how American presidents have used the power of the presidency not only to shape America's domestic and foreign policy, but also for personal gain.

Looks at the evolution of the death penalty debate within the context of major events in the history of American criminal justice, from the nation's first execution, in the famed Jamestown Colony of Virginia, to the cells of America's modern death rows. Tracing this history through the courts, the legislature, and the academic, religious, and popular debates that have surrounded the issue, this volume will reveal how American ideas about execution have evolved and continue to change.

Provides readers with an in-depth exploration of not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts affected the 2018 elections.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. An important look at how our political system developed and changed and the forces that compelled these changes.

An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Elizabeth Faue reconsiders the varied strains of the labor movement, situating them within the context of rapidly transforming twentieth-century American society to show how these efforts have formed a political and social movement that has shaped the trajectory of American life. An indispensable reading for scholars and students interested in American labor in the twentieth century and in the interplay between labor, wealth, and power.

This A-to-Z encyclopedia provides detailed coverage of America's business history, from the Hudson fur trade to the Internet. Informative entries profile corporate titans and tycoons, Wall Street wizards, industry leaders, and major events and institutions of American business -- spanning the period after American independence to the present day.

A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme. This approach provides a detailed perspective as well broad historical and social coverage of the topic.

Presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' labor and economic histories.

Resource guide that provides historical context and helps people and organizations better understand the challenges women have faced and continue to face in the American workplace, along with opportunities and recently discovered and developing success stories.

Covers the span of the entire country, providing a thorough examination of the lives of all types of Americans in this business.

Stretching from the 1880s to the present time, this interesting volume uncovers all levels of the immigrant experience, from those that found success in the U.S. to those that regretted their decision and longed to return to their homeland, all in addition to the changing attitude of Americans towards immigrants.

Profiles Americans whose professions and passions have taken them into the political arena.

A compilation of original research -- personal diaries, family histories -- combined with government statistics, commercial advertisements, and news features.